The Health Division of the Department of Health and Public Welfare is divided into three sections: (1) *Environmental Sanitation*, which consists of the Bureaus of Public Health Engineering, Industrial Hygiene, and Food and Milk Control. (The Bureau of Industrial Hygiene was started in 1943 to take care of the many hazards now appearing in industries, particularly those that have to do with the production of war materials.)

- (2) Preventive Medical Services, which consists of the Bureaus of Disease Control (responsibile for the control of acute communicable disease, venereal disease and tuberculosis); Maternal and Child Hygiene (with divisions of maternal health, infant health, pre-school health, and school health); and Public Health Nursing.
- (3) Psychiatry and Hospitalization, which has two Bureaus: The Bureau of Psychiatry supervises and controls the four mental institutions (the Psychopathic Hospital, Winnipeg; the Hospitals for Mental Diseases at Selkirk and Brandon; and the Manitoba School for Mentally Defective Persons at Portage la Prairie): this Bureau also provides for the mental hygiene activities of the Province. The Bureau of Hospital Care is responsible for the supervision of hospitals and the payment of Provincial Government grants to them.

The Section of Local Health and Welfare Services is responsible for the control of local part-time Health Officers, the establishment and supervision of local Health Units, and consultative services to local Health Departments throughout the Province.

Saskatchewan.—The Department of Public Health has been organized since 1923 under a Minister and a Deputy Minister. A Council of Public Health, which consists of the Deputy Minister as chairman, three medical practitioners, a Veterinary Surgeon and a Civil Engineer, acts in an advisory capacity.

The Department is organized under seven Divisions: (1) The Division of Administration co-ordinates the activities of the Department as a whole, and directs medical rulings in certain unorganized territories. (2) The Division of Public Health Nursing supervises maternity grants; organizes health inspection of school children, home visits, pre-school and preventive clinics in co-operation with local physicians; organizes dental clinics in northern areas; and conducts a Public Health Nursing (3) The Division of Communicable Diseases Service throughout the Province. administers the regulations governing epidemiology, cemeteries, care of the dead, supervision of trachoma, venereal diseases, tuberculosis (other than the organization of the Anti-Tuberculosis League) and poliomyelitis. All biologicals and other treatment are provided free of charge to the physicians and patients. Division of Sanitation supervises sewage systems; food, milk, and ice supplies; and urban and rural sanitation. (5) The Division of Laboratories carries on research in bacteriology, serelogy, pathology, makes chemical analyses and conducts medico-(6) The Office of the Registrar General administers the Vital Statistics Act and the Marriage Act. The system used in classifying vital statistics has been decided upon in co-operation with other provinces and the Dominion Bureau of (7) The Division of Mental Services administers the mental institutions Statistics. established under its provisions at North Battleford, Weyburn and Regina.

Union Hospitals in Saskatchewan.—In addition to the general hospitals, there exists a system known as the "Union Hospital Organization" designed to furnish hospital accommodation in all rural districts. Under the Union Hospital Act, two or more municipalities may co-operate in building, equipping and maintaining a hospital where free treatments may be provided for certain classes of patients, the cost being borne by the municipalities concerned.